Authors In Bloom Ereader Giveaway

Dianne Venetta_AIB Logo_2015

WIN A KINDLE OR NOOK OR A $25 GIFT CARD

Unknown.jpeg GARDENING TIPS Unknown-1.jpeg

I live in the country and rabbits are the thorn in my side. Although adorable, they play havoc in my garden. I have found a couple ways to keep those pesky critters from my flowers. First, I plant marigolds. They don’t like the smell. When I deadhead the marigolds, I sprinkle the seeds from the old flowers around the rest of my flower bed. Not only does it help keep the rabbits out, but I often get free-growing plants the next year.

I also put bright pinwheels in my flower beds. They seem to frighten the bunnies with their constant movement and add some colorful fun to the landscape. What tricks do you use to keep the critters away? (Humane answers only, please.)  Or tell me your favorite spring or summer flower.

Leave your email address in the comments so when Dianne verifies you hit each stop, she can contact the winners. 

AUBREY’S Rafflecopter Giveaway

Please click rafflecopter above to enter the daily giveaway. I am giving away digital books, a signed copy of Dante’s Gift  and a $5 Amazon gift card or Paypal bucks. The first two books in my new series “Just For Sh*#$ and Giggles Short Stories (daily for random commenters) and the print copy and gift card at the end of the hop. International winners will receive a gift card or paypal bucks.

   To Cast a Cliche cover    9781524244378   AubreyWynn_DantesGift_BandNoble_1333x2000 copy

 

Continue the hop for more daily prizes:

Click here

 

63 Comments

  1. Kristina Oden

    Thank you so much for joining the Hop! That’s how I came across your site. I so so happy to have found a new author and books to read! I have subscribed to your newsletter now!! About to follow on Twitter too! Thanks again!!

    • So glad you stopped by Kristina. Hope to see you again soon!

  2. william gossage

    This book sounds like it be a great read

  3. Ivory soap shavings seem to help keep critters away, as do my outdoor cats (ha!), but mostly I switched to container gardening with growboxes from Garden Patch, and now that the vegetables are up on my deck, the bunnies don’t seem brave enough to risk it. cchant86 @ yahoo.com

    • Nice idea, containers. Hmmm… But I will also give the ivory soap a try. Maybe it will help my roses, too?

  4. Dotty J Boucher

    I am still a big newbie when it comes to planting , since I can only plant in my home of having no yard, I do enjoy it so much.

    • Flowers really lift the spirits! We bought my dad a tomato plant hanger that he keeps in the house by his kitchen window!

  5. Jennifer D

    When I had my garden I did not same thing with my marigolds. But I would also sprinkle soap shaving around the garden to. I had a fence around it to but the buggers find a way in. My favorite flowers are daisies and carnations. They are so bright and cheerful.

    • I love daisies and carnations too. I have a lot of sand in my soil and the carnations don’t like it. But the daisies go crazy with the well-drained soil.

  6. I am so going to try the pinwheels. Thanks for being part of the Hop.

    • Thanks for stopping by Neena. The pinwheels drive our barn cats crazy. We have a ball watching them!

  7. ladymagnolia99

    I am enjoying all the recipes and tips on gardening. This is going to be a great hop to participate in.

    Judy Cox
    magnolias_1(at)msn(dot)com

    • Thanks for the visit. I’m on a search for a new summer recipe myself.

  8. Nancy Luebke

    Lots of interesting things here.

  9. throuthehaze

    Thanks for the giveaway.
    throuthehaze at gmail dot com

  10. Amber Ag

    I think tulips would be my favorite. They come in so many different colors.
    Subscribed to your newsletter 🙂
    kissedbymidnight@gmail.com

    • I love seeing the tulips come up in the spring. I know spring really is here!

  11. Zana712

    Great blog Aubrey! Love all the cool stuff you have on here!

  12. Zana712

    Thanks for the giveaway Aubrey!

  13. Barbara Hill

    bihcutie66@yahoo.com Maybe try putting down some moth balls! Not really into gardening, so try at your own risk!😉😉😉

  14. isisthe12th

    Hello Aubrey, no bunny problem in my area ♡ Thank you
    isisthe12th@gmail.com

  15. Thanks for sharing Aubrey!

  16. I like pansies, the more colorful the better. I like the pinwheel tip though I don’t have a garden.

    Anne
    acm05at juno.com

    • Pinwheels are still fun without a garden. 🙂 I love pansies, they are so easy and pretty.

  17. Savannah Miller

    My favorite flower is red or white roses! Every 2 weeks I go to my local floral shop to buy a few stems. I like to have fresh flowers on the one table in my kitchen year round

    • With our sandy soil, roses grow like weeds at my house. I have yellows, pinks, reds and oranges. Some smell, some don’t but they are all beautiful.

  18. Love the marigolds tip, I will have to try that. Thank you for the chance.

  19. rhianona

    thank you for the chance. I appreciate the gardening tips… I wish I could have a garden. sadly, no dice, not with renting.

    • I’m sorry too. You’ll have to get adventurous with potted plants. My mom has a splendid patio.

  20. CATHERINE CHANT HAS WON HER CHOICE OF THE JUST FOR SH*#$ AND GIGGLES SERIES FOR APRIL 7.

  21. AMBER AG HAS WON HER CHOICE OF THE JUST FOR SH*#$ AND GIGGLES SERIES FOR APRIL 8.

  22. Irma

    Thanks so much for being in the HOP.

  23. nancy burgess

    I love when the lilacs open in the spring the aroma is so welcoming after a long winter.Its snowing now so they will be late. jean60212@gmail.com

  24. Alisha Sienkiel

    Our dogs keep most of the wildlife away. To keep the dogs, chickens and ducks out of the veggie garden, I have a low string of electric fence that works really well.
    sienkiel1821 at yahoo dot com

  25. bn100

    interesting ideas

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

  26. tfs93

    We have a lot of rabbits in our yard. Thanks for sharing the tip.

    videoclimber at yahoo dot com

  27. Jeanna Massman

    My favorite spring flowers are lilacs. jeanna_massman@hotmail.com

  28. Michele Hayes

    I don’t really have a garden so we let the rabbits come. I don’t have a favorite flower, either, because I love them all.
    (mybeach52 at yahoo dot com)

  29. Jackie Wisherd

    My favorite flower is the lilac but sadly they do not grow here. Azaleas do well jere but don’t last long.I guess roses are the best ones for Spring here.I basically like all kinds of flowers.

  30. I have a lot of favorite flowers, but two new ones to me last year were seashell cosmos and mother of pearl poppy flowers I grew from seed. They were so beautiful and the bees loved them.

  31. Sorry if this comes through as two comments…it doesn’t look like my previous reply worked.

    I really loved the seashell cosmos and mother of pearl poppies I grew last summer. They’re on my list again this year. The bees went crazy over them too. 😉

  32. My favorite flower is the Tropicana rose because its color and fragrance reminds me of sweet potatoes! rsbrandt44 (at) hotmail (dot) com

  33. I really like dahlias – especially the big dinner plate ones.

    Thanks for the chance to win! blueberrycrisp@gmail dot com

  34. Bluebells are my favorite and mine have multiplied to three this year. I live deep in the woods so raccoons are a problem as are armadillos and opossums and various other weeble-like critters. I have cats and a dog who patrol the perimeter which takes care of most things. For bugs, I use companion plantings of marigolds and lavender when I can. A soapy spray of neem helps, too. Best of luck with your books.
    @SorchiaDubois
    Sorchia’s Universe
    sorchiadubois@hughes.net

    • Bluebells are so pretty. We don’t have armadillos in Illinois but definitely get the pesky raccoons and opossums in our barn. Thanks so much for stopping by.

  35. Deborah

    Apparently I don’t have any good tips on keeping the wild critters at bay…I see the deer have pruned more bushes out back!

    Happy Spring!

    sprocket 215 at g mail dot com

  36. ELF

    Fortunately, no rabbits (except for one pet that came to visit us a couple of years ago, lol). I will have to try the pinwheels and see if that helps with the birds! Thanks for the giveaway!
    elewkf1 at yahoo dot com

    • I had a pet rabbit in my classroom for years. Thanks for stopping by.

  37. amy

    Thanks for the tips with Rabbits. I will try it. amybowens34(at) yahoo(dot) com

  38. I hope so too. They are cute but so frustrating.

  39. JEANNA MASSMAN HAS WON THE DAILY GIVEAWAY FOR APRIL 10.

  40. ANNE IS THE DAILY WINNER FOR APRIL 11.

  41. BookAttict

    I’ve got nothing! I’m a total newbie!
    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth(at)bookattict(dot)com

Leave a Reply

