YA Debut: The Haunting Of Secrets by Shelley Pickens

hauntingofsecrets3

In Aimee’s world where one touch can reveal a cesspool of carefully guarded secrets, the last thing she wants to be caught up in is a quest to expose a murderer, let alone fall for the cute, popular guy that has the biggest, dirtiest secret of all – and it’s a killer.

Buy Links: 

   fibanner

Synopsis:

Sixteen year old Aimee doesn’t like to touch people.  One touch and she sees their past.  One touch and she can see all the good and bad deeds a person has ever done.  It isn’t until a bomb explodes during lunch that she realizes exactly how many dirty secrets the students in her school harbor-or exactly how far one of them would go to keep his secrets safe.

In the aftermath of that fateful day of the bombing Aimee is brushed by a fellow student as they are caught in the mob running for their lives.  Images of tortured and murdered young girls rise up to choke her.  The problem is Aimee doesn’t know who touched her.  Somewhere in this school a fellow student is a killer, and Aimee is the only one that can find him before he kills again.  Though Aimee loathes human contact, she embarks on a mission to find the killer.  She enlists the help of her friends in school to aid in sifting through her stolen memories to determine clues.  The quest to find a killer unravels the very fabric of her carefully woven life and puts her in even more danger as one of her classmates is murdered and dumped in the woods behind the school.  The killer leaves a note for Aimee –“you are next.”  He won’t stop until he silences her- for only she knows all his secrets. She will have to summon all of her inner strength to decide what she must do: hunt or be hunted.  Are some secrets worth dying for?

YouTube Trailer Link

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQvKX0rb-Zg

 

We have a surprise visitor today. Aimee, from The Haunting of Secrets, has stopped by to tell us a little about herself and give us the scoop on Shelley’s YA Paranormal debut novel. Let’s see if she gives away any secrets of her own. she has promised not to scare us. 

Why were you given that name?

My mother I’ve never known gave it to me

Is there a nickname you’re known by? Do you prefer it?

Aim, cause that’s what Logan calls me

When were you born?

1998

Do you have any scars, tattoos, piercings? What do they mean to you?

Yes, I have a nose ring.

Do you have a personal scent (perfume or cologne)? If yes, what?

Yes, Moonlight Path from Bath and Body works

Do you have any siblings? If so, what are their names and ages?

I’m an orphan so if I do I don’t know them

Who has been your greatest influence (parent, friend, idol)? Why?

Mary. Because she’s one of the few people whose memories are not sinister and who accepts me despite the evil that follows me.

Where do you currently live (town, neighborhood, locale)?

I currently live in Bartow, GA

What sort of a home is it (castle, apartment, cardboard box)?

I live in a small house with my adopted mother Mary

With whom do you live? How do you feel about that person / people?

I live with my adopted mother Mary who loves me despite my curse.

How do you think your colleagues would describe you?

As a Goth girl who likes to be alone

Who is your best friend? Describe them briefly.

Dejana – she’s popular, pretty and a great artist

Who is your biggest rival / enemy?

Everyone. One touch and I know their every secret; hold their every memory. So my greatest enemy is anyone and everyone.

How would you spend an unexpected day off?

Alone reading a book in my room

What makes you blush?

Logan, his smile is intoxicating.

Have you undergone any dramatic physical transformations in your life?

I dye my hair black to go with my Goth exterior I show to the world. But my hair is really blonde.

How do you feel about children? Do you have or want to have your own?

I don’t’ feel comfortable around people so children would be out of the question. And it is also a possibility that they could inherit my curse which I would never do to a kid.

What do you dislike most about your life? What is missing?

The same thing actually – the Simple touch of another human being. Something I both fear and crave

 

About The Author

nic0416-3050805798-o

Shelley Pickens has been in love with anything and everything on the dark side of paranormal since the time she learned to read.  After 15 years of teaching Spanish to high schoolers, she decided to take her unique firsthand knowledge of young adults and apply it to her passion for creative writing and fantasy.  When not teaching or writing, Shelley likes to spend time with her husband and two beautiful children in Atlanta, Ga.  Her escape from reality is her love of complex thriller and science fiction TV series like Supernatural and Sleepy Hollow.  In her spare time she is an avid reader of all types of genres.  THE HAUNTING OF SECRETS is her debut novel.

Keep In Touch With Shelley:

Website: http://www.http://shelleypickens.wordpress.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/shelleypickensauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/shelleybelly74

Fire And Ice Author Page: http://www.fireandiceya.com/authors/shelleyrpickens/index.html

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Shelley-R.Pickens/e/B00M3BNI2Q/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

 

 

8 Comments

  1. Sounds like a very intriguing read. Each time you feature a book/author my “to be read” list gets longer. Thanks for posting and best of luck Shelley.

  2. Thanks so much for stopping by, Susan. I know, my list is longer than my arm. Good grief. But what a wonderful problem.

  3. Wonderful interview from a great author!

  4. This book sounds awesome and I cant wait to read it. I love your book trailer!

  5. It’s a good trailer for YA, isn’t it?

  6. Thanks so much Aubrey Wynne for the shout out!!! And a big hug of thanks to everyone that stopped by!

  7. Reblogged this on Shelley R. Pickens and commented:
    Get to know my main character Aimee! I thought it might be time to reblog this character interview that one of my favorite writers Aubrey Wynne did for me! Thanks Aubrey! Are your secrets safe??

Trackbacks

  1. YA Debut: The Haunting Of Secrets by Shelley Pickens | Shelley R. Pickens

Leave a Reply

